The best GetMagic alternative for most businesses is Assist World: a full-time assistant from $1,800 a month (about $12 an hour), chosen by you from matched candidates, with no lock-in contract, a 100% satisfaction guarantee and industry-trained VAs. Magic is cheaper per hour at $360 a week for 40 hours (about $9 an hour, our math). For US-based help, compare Time Etc or Zirtual.
Magic sells a dedicated human assistant (not AI) on weekly plans: $360 a week for a virtual assistant and $540 a week for an executive assistant, each at 40 hours a week, billed every four weeks at $1,440 or $2,160. On our math that is about $9 and $13.50 an hour. Magic says you pay only once you’ve picked your assistant, with no contracts and no hidden fees, and part-time plans exist.
To be plain about it, Magic is cheaper per hour than Assist World on its virtual assistant plan. People compare it for other reasons: the pricing page doesn’t say where assistants are based, doesn’t state a guarantee, and doesn’t publish part-time prices. Forbes Advisor’s roundup doesn’t cover Magic, so there is less independent data.
One disclosure up front: this is Assist World’s site, so we list ourselves first. Every price and rating below comes from each provider’s own site or from Forbes Advisor where it is covered, checked in October 2026, and we say plainly where Magic is the better fit.
GetMagic alternatives at a glance
| Provider | Best for | Starting price | Assistants based | Guarantee or exit | Forbes Advisor |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Assist World | Industry-matched support you choose yourself | $1,800/mo full time (about $12/hr) | Vetted global talent pool | 100% satisfaction guarantee, no lock-in | 4.5/5, Best for Specific Industries |
| Wishup | Managed assistants with an optional backup VA | From $1,999/mo (Prime VA) | India (night shifts cover US hours); US-based tier available | Month to month, free replacement on Prime | Not in Forbes roundup |
| Wing Assistant | Lowest monthly price | $999/mo (160 hrs) or $699/mo (80 hrs) | Not specified on homepage | Free replacement, cancel anytime | Not rated (featured partner) |
| Zirtual | US-based inbox, calendar and outbound support | $599/mo for 12 hrs (about $50/hr) | US-based | No contract; no formal guarantee, can request a new assistant | 4.6/5 |
| Time Etc | US-based hourly support | $390/mo for 10 hrs ($39/hr) | US-based | Cancel anytime, satisfaction guarantee | 4.9/5 |
| Magic (GetMagic) (for comparison) | Dedicated human assistants on weekly plans | $360/week for 40 hrs a week (about $9/hr) | Not stated | No contracts, pay after you pick your assistant | Not in Forbes roundup |
Prices and terms from each provider’s own pricing page and the Forbes Advisor roundup, October 2026. Where a provider doesn’t publish a price, we say so instead of estimating.
Now the detail on each one, starting with the option most Magic prospects compare first.
01Assist World: Matched to Your Industry, Chosen by You
Assist World starts from the same promise Magic makes, that you choose your assistant, and adds structure around it. You meet at least two candidates matched to your role and your industry, so a VA placed with a legal practice or a property manager has already handled that kind of work. That matters more for specialized tasks than for general inbox support.
Full-time support typically costs $1,800 to $3,000 a month (about $12 to $17 an hour), depending on role and experience. That range includes a dedicated account manager, a dashboard for managing the assistant, a 100% satisfaction guarantee and no lock-in contract. Forbes Advisor rated Assist World 4.5 out of 5 and named it Best for Specific Industries.
To be fair about the trade: on a virtual assistant plan, Magic’s weekly rate works out lower per hour than ours, and Magic also lets you choose your assistant before you pay. What Assist World adds is industry matching, an account manager, a stated guarantee and independent validation. If your work is mostly admin, see our administrative virtual assistant support.
What works
- You meet at least two matched candidates and choose who you work with
- Industry-trained VAs across 18 service lines
- Dedicated account manager and a dashboard to manage your assistant
- No lock-in contract and a 100% satisfaction guarantee
Watch for
- Pricing varies by role and experience, so use the instant quote for a firm number
- A vetted global talent pool, so not the pick if you require US-based assistants only
- A placement agency across many industries: ask about your exact tools before you commit
Versus Magic: Choose Assist World for industry fit, a stated guarantee and independent validation. Magic wins on the lowest weekly price for general support.
Book a free consultationSee pricing and get an instant quoteAssist World pricing and terms from our own rate card and site. Rating from the Forbes Advisor roundup, October 2026.
02Wishup: Managed Assistants With a Backup VA at the Higher Tier
Wishup sells managed VAs by the month: Prime at $1,999, Elite at $2,999 and a US-based plan at $5,400, with month-to-month billing and about 5 percent off for paying annually. Prime includes free replacement and 8 weeks of training; Elite adds a success manager and a backup VA.
Its FAQ says non-US VAs are based in India and cover US hours on night shifts, and that they can’t make cold calls. The pricing page doesn’t map each price to a number of hours, and Wishup isn’t covered by Forbes Advisor. Compared with Magic, it costs more and states less about hours.
What works
- Month to month with a discount for annual billing
- Free VA replacement on the Prime plan, plus a VA manager and 8 weeks of training
- Elite adds a customer success manager, a backup VA and custom automations
- A US-based tier exists for businesses that need it
Watch for
- The pricing page doesn’t clearly say how many hours each price covers
- Non-US VAs are based in India and cover US hours on night shifts, and per Wishup they can’t make cold calls
- The US-based tier is $5,400 a month
- The page and its own description show different figures, so confirm in writing
Versus Magic: Choose Wishup if a backup VA, a success manager or automation work matters more than price.
Source: Wishup pricing page, checked October 2026. Not covered in the Forbes Advisor roundup.
03Wing Assistant: Lowest Monthly Price
Wing Assistant publishes two general plans: $699 a month for 80 hours and $999 a month for 160 hours (about $8.74 and $6.24 an hour), month to month, with a customer success manager and free replacement.
It is the one provider here priced below Magic’s virtual assistant plan, and the plans state the hours. The trade-offs are the same ones: Forbes Advisor lists Wing as a featured partner without a rating, and no guarantee is stated beyond replacement.
What works
- Lowest published monthly price on this list
- Dedicated assistant, customer success manager and free replacement
- Month-to-month plans with no stated minimum term
- Plans published openly on the pricing page
Watch for
- Assistant location isn’t specified on the homepage
- No satisfaction or money-back guarantee stated, only free replacement
- Forbes Advisor lists Wing as a featured partner without a star rating
Versus Magic: Pick Wing when budget is the deciding factor and the work is simple and repeatable.
Source: Wing Assistant pricing page, checked October 2026. Rating from the Forbes Advisor roundup.
04Zirtual: US-Based Help for Inbox and Calendar Work
Zirtual prices by task hours and users: $599 for 12 hours, $899 for 20 hours with two users, $1,199 for 30 hours with three users and $1,699 for 45 hours with four users. That is about $50 down to $38 an hour, with no setup fee or contract.
Assistants are US-based and college educated, per Zirtual, with a stated 2 hour response during business hours and a kickoff strategy call. Rated 4.6 out of 5 by Forbes Advisor. It is far more expensive per hour than Magic, and unused hours don’t roll over.
What works
- Assistants are US-based and college educated, per Zirtual
- No long-term contract and no setup fee
- Individual, team and outbound plans are all published
- Direct phone, text and email access, with a 2 hour business-hours response time
Watch for
- About $50 an hour on the solo plan, the highest solo rate here after Boldly
- Unused hours don’t roll over, and cancellations take effect the following month
- No formal guarantee stated, only the option to request a different assistant
- Forbes Advisor notes no industry-specific assistants beyond paralegal
Versus Magic: Choose Zirtual when US-based help and a published rating matter more than the hourly rate.
Source: Zirtual pricing page, checked October 2026. Rating from the Forbes Advisor roundup.
05Time Etc: US-Based Help by the Hour
Time Etc sells hourly plans, $390 for 10 hours up to $2,160 for 60 hours (about $39 to $36 an hour), all with a US-based assistant, holiday and sickness cover and a lifetime satisfaction guarantee. You can send a first task free with no credit card.
The cost is the point of difference: Time Etc’s 60-hour plan at $2,160 is more than Magic’s $1,440 for four full weeks of 40-hour coverage. What you pay for is a stated location, a stated guarantee and Forbes Advisor’s top rating (4.9 out of 5).
What works
- Dedicated US-based assistants on every plan, with holiday and sickness cover built in
- Month to month with no setup fee, and unused hours roll over
- Free first-task trial and a satisfaction guarantee
- Forbes Advisor’s top-rated service at 4.9 out of 5
Watch for
- About $36 to $39 an hour, so volume gets expensive fast
- Forbes Advisor notes fewer industry-specific assistants
- Plans above 60 hours aren’t priced online
Versus Magic: Pick Time Etc for US-based quality on smaller workloads with a free trial task.
Source: Time Etc pricing page, checked October 2026. Rating from the Forbes Advisor roundup.
The cheapest hourly rate only wins if the assistant, the location and the guarantee are all things you’ve confirmed.
Why people look for GetMagic alternatives
Magic’s weekly plans are good value for general support. The reasons people compare it with other providers are usually these:
- Location isn’t stated. The pricing page doesn’t say where assistants are based.
- No stated guarantee. Magic says you pay after choosing an assistant, but the pricing page doesn’t state a satisfaction guarantee.
- Part-time prices aren’t published. Only the 40-hour weekly plans carry prices on the page.
- They want an industry match. Assist World matches by role and industry, which helps in niches like real estate, accounting or healthcare admin.
- They want independent ratings. Magic isn’t in the Forbes Advisor roundup, while Assist World is rated 4.5 out of 5.
What the price gap actually buys
Any virtual assistant is a bargain next to a local hire. For most US businesses the comparison that matters is against the salary they would otherwise pay:
Magic at $1,440 per four weeks and Assist World at about $1,800 to $3,000 a month are both a fraction of a local hire. The real question is whether a stated guarantee, an account manager and an industry-matched assistant are worth the difference to you.
What Magic’s weekly plans cost over a year
Magic bills every four weeks, not every calendar month, so the yearly figure is higher than the monthly one suggests. There are 13 four-week cycles in a year, not 12. All of the numbers below are our math from the weekly prices on Magic’s pricing page.
| Plan | Weekly price | Per 4 weeks | Per year (13 cycles) | Average per month |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virtual Assistant (40 hrs/week) | $360 | $1,440 | $18,720 | $1,560 |
| Executive Assistant (40 hrs/week) | $540 | $2,160 | $28,080 | $2,340 |
| Magic Teams (each assistant) | $540 | $2,160 | $28,080 | $2,340 |
| Assist World full time | n/a | n/a | $21,600 to $36,000 | $1,800 to $3,000 |
Magic’s prices are from its pricing page, October 2026. Yearly and monthly figures are our math. Part-time plans exist but their prices aren’t published.
Read it this way: Magic’s virtual assistant plan averages $1,560 a month, below the start of Assist World’s range, and its executive assistant plan averages $2,340, which falls inside it. For a US business comparing against a $5,000 to $8,000 in-house hire, both Magic plans and Assist World are a fraction of the cost.
What Magic’s pricing page doesn’t tell you
Magic is clear about price and how billing works. It is less clear about everything else, and each gap is a question for the sales call:
- How matching works. Magic says you choose your assistant, but the page doesn’t explain how candidates are selected.
- Where assistants are based. Not stated, which matters for time zones, accents and data handling.
- Any guarantee. The page says you pay once you’ve picked an assistant and that there are no contracts, but it states no satisfaction guarantee.
- Part-time pricing. The page mentions part-time plans without prices or hours.
- Task scope. The page names use cases (executive, admin, customer service, bookkeeping) without a list of what is in or out.
Where Magic is the better choice
- You want the lowest full-time price for general support. About $9 an hour on the virtual assistant plan beats every other published rate on this page except Wing.
- You want to pick your assistant and pay afterward. Magic says you pay once you’ve selected the assistant you want.
- You want a weekly plan and no contract. Magic says there is no long-term commitment and you can change plan or cancel anytime.
- You are scaling a team. Magic Teams lists custom hiring and training and discounts at scale.
Questions to ask Magic before you sign up
- Where are my candidates based, and which hours do they cover?
- What happens if the assistant I choose doesn’t work out after a month?
- What do part-time plans cost, and how many hours do they include?
- How does the executive assistant tier’s ‘top 0.5 percent’ selection work?
- Can I see the assistant’s profile and speak with them before payment?
- Is anything off limits, such as outbound calls or financial accounts?
How to choose between Magic and its alternatives
Run every provider through the same four checks before you compare price:
- Location and hours. Ask where the assistant is based and which hours they cover.
- Guarantee. What happens if the match isn’t right: a refund, a replacement or nothing in writing?
- Billing cycle. Compare weekly, four-weekly and monthly prices on the same monthly basis.
- Role fit. Has this person done your exact task (scheduling, intake, bookkeeping, listing coordination) before?
Convert every price to a month
Weekly, four-weekly and hourly prices all need to become one monthly figure before you compare.
List what the page leaves out
Write down location, guarantee and task scope as open questions for every provider.
Interview before paying
Ask to speak with the assistant first, and note how each provider handles a bad match.
Set 30-day KPIs
Agree two or three measurable outcomes so a low price doesn’t hide low output.
How to switch from Magic without losing momentum
Magic says there are no contracts, so the move can be quick. Prepare the handoff in advance:
- Ask your assistant to document recurring tasks, templates and approval rules.
- Check your billing cycle end date so you don’t pay for an overlap you don’t need.
- Move shared logins into a password manager so access can be reassigned in minutes.
- Write down the three outcomes you’ll judge the new assistant on after 30 days.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best GetMagic alternative?
It depends on what you’re optimizing for. For industry-trained assistants you choose yourself with a stated 100% satisfaction guarantee and no lock-in contract, Assist World (from $1,800 a month, rated 4.5 out of 5 by Forbes Advisor). For US-based help, Time Etc (from $390 a month) or Zirtual (from $599 a month). For the lowest monthly price, Wing Assistant ($999 a month for 160 hours).
How much does Magic (GetMagic) cost?
Magic’s pricing page lists a virtual assistant at $360 a week and an executive assistant at $540 a week, each for 40 hours a week, billed every four weeks at $1,440 or $2,160. That is about $9 and $13.50 an hour on our math. Magic doesn’t state hourly rates. Prices checked in October 2026.
Is Magic cheaper than Assist World?
On its virtual assistant plan, yes: about $9 an hour on our math, against about $12 to $17 an hour for Assist World full-time support. Magic’s executive assistant plan, at about $13.50 an hour, falls inside Assist World’s range.
Are Magic assistants based in the US?
Magic’s pricing page doesn’t say where assistants are based. Time Etc and Zirtual state that theirs are US-based. Assist World recruits from a vetted global talent pool, so tell us your hours up front when you book a consultation.
Does Magic have a contract?
Magic says there are no contracts and that you pay once you’ve picked your assistant. Assist World also has no lock-in contract.
Is Magic in the Forbes Advisor roundup?
No. Magic isn’t covered in Forbes Advisor’s roundup of virtual assistant services. In that roundup, Time Etc scores 4.9, Zirtual 4.6 and Assist World 4.5, and Wing Assistant appears as a featured partner without a rating.
How does Magic’s four-week billing affect the yearly cost?
Magic bills every four weeks, so there are 13 payments a year. The virtual assistant plan comes to $18,720 a year (about $1,560 a month) and the executive assistant plan to $28,080 (about $2,340 a month). These are our calculations from Magic’s weekly prices.
What is the difference between Magic’s virtual assistant and executive assistant plans?
Both are 40 hours a week. The virtual assistant plan is $360 a week for everyday work, and the executive assistant plan is $540 a week and is described as curated from the top 0.5 percent of talent, with Magic 24/7.
Can I choose my assistant at Magic?
Magic says you pick the assistant you want to work with and only pay after you’ve made that selection. The page doesn’t explain how candidates are shortlisted, so ask. Assist World also lets you choose, from at least two matched candidates.
Keep comparing
Want an assistant you choose, with a stated guarantee?
Book a free consultation, tell us what is eating your week, and meet matched candidates within 24 to 48 hours. No lock-in contract.
Free ConsultationHow we checked. Pricing and terms come from each provider’s own site (Magic, Wishup, Wing Assistant, Zirtual, Time Etc), reviewed in October 2026. Ratings come from the Forbes Advisor roundup of virtual assistant services. Where a provider doesn’t publish a price, we say so instead of estimating.
Disclosure. Assist World is our company, so we list it first. Prices and terms change, so confirm current details with any provider before you buy.